Heel to toe to hair and hoof and it's head over heels and it's all but an ark-lark...
Love's Easy Tears

“It’ll flop! Even though it’s a goodie…” Elizabeth Fraser

Love’s Easy Tears

  • October 1986
  • 4AD
  • AD/BAD 610
  • 13 min, 38 sec

Track listing

  1. Love’s Easy Tears
  2. Those Eyes, That Mouth
  3. Sigh’s Smell of Farewell
  4. Orange Appled


  • Vinyl
  • Cassette
  • CD
  • Digital


Release notes

  • All titles written and produced by Cocteau Twins.
  • Recorded and mixed at Good Earth, London.
  • Sleeve design by 23 Envelope.

Show more

  • AD610 (7-inch single) did not include “Sigh’s Smell of Farewell” or “Orange Appled.”
  • BAD610 (12-inch EP) and subsequent pressings included all four tracks.
  • Peaked at #53 on the UK album chart.
  • A promotional video was produced for “Love’s Easy Tears.”
  • The song “Crushed” was recorded during this time period, but was released as part of 4AD’s 1987 compilation, Lonely is an Eyesore, as well as on the bonus disc of the 1991 EPs and Singles Box Set.
  • A live television performance of “Orange Appled” was broadcast by SNUB-TV in the UK in 1990.
  • Re-released in 1991 as part of EPs and Singles Box Set.
  • A remastered version of “Orange Appled” appears on the 2000 collection Stars and Topsoil.
  • Digitally remastered and re-released in 2005 as part of Lullabies to Violaine.
  • All tracks have appeared in live performances.

Listen and buy online


  • "Love's Easy Tears" official video © 4AD 1986.
  • Televised performance of "Orange Appled" on 'SNUB-TV,' 1991.
  • "Love's Easy Tears" live performance in Portsmouth, England, 1986.
  • "Those Eyes, That Mouth" live performance, 1986.


External links