Heel to toe to hair and hoof and it's head over heels and it's all but an ark-lark...

“There’s a Christmas record that comes out on Capitol Records every few years, and they were trying to get all their bands to do a cover version of a Christmas song. I didn’t think that’s what it was at the time. I thought it would be like sitting next to Frank Sinatra. But in fact it would’ve been, y’know, Skinny Puppy, doing ‘Merry Xmas Everybody.’ Anyway they’d said, Would you do one? And Liz suggested—it must have been for a joke—‘Frosty The Snowman.’ Then Robin went, ‘Yeah, good title, people will think it’s a normal Cocteau Twins song with a title like that.’ Once we’d got the music down, I wrote down the lyrics on a piece of paper and said to Liz, ‘Hey, look at these,’ and we were laughing away. As we were going through it I was listening to Liz’s reactions and thinking this is never gonna get done. She was going, ”He’s a very happy soul’β€”me sing that?! No way, I could not in a million years… ‘with a broomstick in his ‘—you’ve gotta be fucking kidding!’ I just didn’t think she’d do it.” Simon Raymonde


  • December 1993
  • Fontana/Mercury & Capitol
  • COCCD1
  • 5 min, 45 sec

Track listing

  1. Winter Wonderland
  2. Frosty the Snowman


  • Vinyl
  • CD
  • Digital


Release notes

  • Happy Christmas.
  • “Winter Wonderland” written by Felix Bernard, Dick Smith. Produced and arranged by Cocteau Twins.
  • “Frosty the Snowman” written by Jack Rollings, Steve Nelson. Produced and arranged by Cocteau Twins.
  • Additional engineering by Lincoln Fong.
  • Recorded and mixed at September Sound, London.
  • Original photography by Walter Wick. Sleeve design by Lifeboat Matey.

Show more

  • Peaked at #58 on the UK album chart.
  • “Frosty the Snowman” originally appeared on a 1992 release of Volume CD Magazine (Volume 5).
  • “Winter Wonderland” was later released on the 1995 holiday compilation entitled The Edge of Christmas.
  • Digitally remastered and re-released in 2005 as part of Lullabies to Violaine.
  • Both tracks from Snow were included in the 2018 release Treasure Hiding: The Fontana Years.

Listen and buy online


External links