Heel to toe to hair and hoof and it's head over heels and it's all but an ark-lark...

“Me and Liz decided we were just going to do some tracks with just acoustics and voice as our limitations.” Robin Guthrie


  • April 1986
  • 4AD
  • CAD 602
  • 32 min, 47 sec

Track listing

  1. Lazy Calm
  2. Fluffy Tufts
  3. Throughout the Dark Months of April and May
  4. Whales Tails
  5. Oomingmak
  6. Little Spacey
  7. Feet-Like Fins
  8. How to Bring a Blush to the Snow
  9. The Thinner the Air


  • Vinyl
  • Cassette
  • CD
  • Digital


Release notes

  • Produced by Cocteau Twins.
  • All titles written and performed by Robin Guthrie and Elizabeth Fraser.
  • Richard Thomas plays saxophone and tablas courtesy of Dif Juz.
  • Art direction and design by 23 Envelope.

Show more

  • Victorialand reached #10 on the UK albums chart.
  • An instrumental version of “Oomingmak” was released with the 1991 EPs and Singles Box Set.
  • “Lazy Calm” and “Whales Tails” have been performed live since their release.
  • “Oomingmak” was performed live with a new arrangement by Elizabeth Fraser during her Meltdown Festival solo performances in 2012.
  • An ambient remix of “Feet-Like Fins,” by Mark Clifford, appears on the 1995 EP Otherness.
  • “Lazy Calm” and “The Thinner the Air” appear on the 2000 compilation Stars and Topsoil.
  • Victorialand was digitally remastered and re-released by 4AD in 2003.
  • In 2020, 4AD re-released Victorialand with remastered audio pressed to 140 gram vinyl and the original 23 Envelope artwork and photography.
  • The title takes its name from a land mass in Antarctica. Some song titles were inspired by David Attenborough’s 1984 programme and book “The Living Planet.”

Listen and buy online


  • Live performance of "Lazy Calm," recorded in London (1986).
  • Live soundboard recording of "Whales Tails," recorded in Detroit, MI (1991).
  • Live performance of "Lazy Calm," recorded in London (1996).


External links