Heel to toe to hair and hoof and it's head over heels and it's all but an ark-lark...
Violaine (1)

“Ectefamof oitavito fles eth yll-anif / snoitatimil noitae chus sec-cus / namukadnu itnemavom lacigolochysp.” “Violaine”

Violaine (1)

  • October 1996
  • Fontana/Mercury & Capitol
  • CTCD6
  • 12 min, 3 sec

Track listing

  1. Violaine
  2. Smile
  3. Tranquil Eye


  • Vinyl
  • CD
  • Digital


Release notes

  • Written, produced and engineered by Cocteau Twins.
  • Additional engineering by Mitsuo Tate.
  • Photography by Spiros Politis. A Blue Source sleeve.

Show more

  • Peaked at #56 on the UK album chart.
  • “Violaine” has appeared in live performances.
  • A Chinese version of “Tranquil Eye” was recorded by Faye Wong (Wangfei), for whom the song was originally composed.
  • This was the last Cocteau Twins release by Fontana/Mercury (with the exception of the song “Touch Upon Touch,” which was released in 1996 on the compilation Volume 17 and in 1997 on the compilation Splashed With Many a Speck).
  • Digitally remastered and re-released in 2005 as part of Lullabies to Violaine.
  • All tracks from Violaine were included in the 2018 release Treasure Hiding: The Fontana Years.

Listen and buy online


Audio of “Violaine” performed live at Royal Albert Hall, London, 8th May 1996.


External links